You are viewing limited content. For full access, please sign in.

Question

Question

Workflow Designer saving moving documents in reverse order

asked on May 16

Hello Everyone,

 

Essentially what's happening is I have a form individuals fill out with Laserfiche Forms. We then have certain fields (if filled out/ selected) will auto fill the custom description meta data within our LF Repository. When this happens, the "Move Pages" step in the workflow then takes the first page (activity history) and moves it to the end of the document so that it's last. However, if none of those fields are selected, it will go down the other path in the workflow and wait for a Custom Description to be manually filled in. When this happens, the same "Move Pages" step will take the last page of the document and move it first, ie. it does the step in reverse order. 

 

To break it down. If our document has pages 1,2,3,4. and goes down the path where the custom description is automatically filled in. The new document order is 2,3,4,1. 

However, if we have to manually fill in the Custom Description, the document is then ordered 4,1,2,3.

 

I've been asking LF about this and they haven't figured out a solution yet so I was wondering if anyone else has encountered such a thing.

 

Thanks for any help!

0 0

Replies

replied on May 17

Have you checked the Workflow history for one of your affected documents to see if perhaps it is running the workflow more than once?

0 0
replied on May 17

@Jason Smith

I have looked into this, and it only has the one instance of the workflow and the lookup workflow. I've apparently stumped LF with this one as well as they've been looking into this with me. I have attached a word document to this for pictures.

 

Could it be that the look up workflow and main workflow is being ran again after the update? But I don't see how that would reverse the move pages step.

0 0
replied on May 17 Show version history

It does look like it is running the pair of workflows twice. What is the warning message you are getting after the TOT Autofile?

Something you could do to test is enable versioning on one of the documents before letting the Workflow run or just open Workflow Admin Console, go to Monitoring > Subscribers > Show LF Live Event Viewer, then run your process and filter the event viewer results on that entry ID.

That way you could know for sure if it is moving Page 4 to Page 1, or if it is actually moving the first page multiple times.

0 0
replied on May 17

The warning being triggered is just from the link between the document and the attached supporting documents that come along to the designated folder.

I will post again after I look into your suggestion with enabling versioning on the document.

0 0
You are not allowed to follow up in this post.

Sign in to reply to this post.