You are viewing limited content. For full access, please sign in.

Question

Question

Forms keeps unchecking a setting that causes it to un-sync from it's current license status

asked on February 23 Show version history

This box got unchecked again.

I do not know what causes it to get unchecked, it could be running updates on the software or some sort of software glitch. But when it gets unchecked it causes major outages as the license stops syncing and when they renew their plan it does not sync over to their server causing it to shut itself down including all public forms.

I have requested a lock on this box before, I would like to be able to lock it from never being able to be unchecked as there is never a reason not to keep the license information accurate.

0 0

Replies

replied on February 26

What’s the version number of Forms currently in use? Has there been any version upgrade around the time this issue occurred?

0 0
replied on February 27

Every year the system goes down and we find this setting is unchecked. This is about the 7th year. So this includes versions going all the way back to Version 10. There is likely always at least one upgrade made over the year, so I am unsure if it gets unchecked during a software upgrade or some other trigger, but I can say for sure no human ever unchecks this box as there is no reason to disconnect the system from the licensing server.

0 0
replied on March 2

This option was changed to be checked by default in the fix for bug #605116, which is included in Forms 2025H2 upgrade (Version 12.0.2509.20409). This means that any version prior to this will still have the option unchecked by default.

Did you ever uninstall and reinstall Forms? If so, the settings would have been lost, causing the option to revert to being unchecked. 

0 0
replied on March 3

I have migrated forms to new operating systems many times before with a fresh install and I never seem to lose my settings since the database is where the settings appear to be stored.

There has been many disaster recovery situations where I have had to install Forms fresh too and I never recall losing the configurations.

0 0
replied on March 3

Have you checked this “Automatically check LFDS...” option after performing a fresh install? Some settings like this are not stored in the database. Instead, they’re saved in the Forms/web.config file under the Forms installation directory, so they will be lost after an uninstallation or a fresh install.

0 0
replied on March 4

That is the thing, I am uncertain when and where it is getting unchecked and if the software was re-installed. But it is the 7th year in a row that we found it unchecked after the system went down and checked the box expecting the problem would not happen next year.

0 0
You are not allowed to follow up in this post.

Sign in to reply to this post.