You are viewing limited content. For full access, please sign in.

Question

Question

Default to the repository name well before the user enter his credentials

asked on December 6 Show version history

Hi all,

I have 3 repositories in total from the login page of Web Access and WebLink. My customer wants to default the repository name. (Suppose that Sheila belongs to the 'X' repository, the login page should default to the 'X' repository well before the user enter his credentials.

Is this feasible and how to proceed with same?

 

0 0

Replies

replied on December 6

Each user could be given a shortcut that is customized according to which repository they need to log into. See the help for more information on that:

1 0
replied on December 6

Even though that a custom Windows shortcut has been created, I am able to view the other repositories on the login page. Is there any method in hiding the other repositories?

 

Thanks to suggest

0 0
replied on December 7

It is all dependent on how you have Web Access setup. If you have configured Web Access to allow connections to the 3 repositories then they will show up as options. To get around this, you could setup multiple Web Access installations each connecting to a different repository, but if you have any users that would log into more than 1 of the repositories it might get confusing.

0 0
replied on December 7

Hi Sheila,

 

The default repository cannot be set to the individual user on the Web Client, since the browser does not know who's logging in yet until the user selects a repository and enters their username and password. So there's no way Web Client can determine which repository to display or log into until the user identifies themselves.

In the Web Client Configuration page, you can specify which one of the repositories need to be set as default, but this applies to all users.

 

 

The best option would be to save a shortcut in the user's browser as follows, where the repository name is added to the URL:

 

http://servername/laserfiche/browse.aspx?repo=YOURREPOSNAME

 

If using the Windows Client, you can right click on the Repositories list and remove the option for "Scan Network for Repositories". Whatever repository has been logged into (Attached) previously or in the future will be saved in the repositories list and this might help clean up the options that the user has.

 

Regards,

Sheldon

0 0
You are not allowed to follow up in this post.

Sign in to reply to this post.