You are viewing limited content. For full access, please sign in.

Question

Question

After Purging the Entry Still Remains in the Volume

asked on September 12, 2016

Good Day,

I have a client that is importing thousands of documents using Import Agent. As it stands he is running out of space. We have narrowed it down to the fact that the PDF documents have been set to Generate Pages. We have now turned this off and the size difference of each page is massive. 

We have built a workflow which goes through the repository finds an electronic document which has images attached to it and delete the images, keeping the PDF document in tact.

This is working. What we have noticed is even though the workflow is set to purge and delete the document, the document is newly created under the volume. This is the workflow:


I would like to know how to automatically purge these documents under the volume as well? I have set the volume to be moved to: D:\LASERFICHE\DELETE and set to a roll over of 1024mb. This will be manually deleted for the time being.

 

0 0

Answer

SELECTED ANSWER
replied on September 12, 2016

The volume file deletion happens in the background, and depending on your version of the LF server it might happen ever hour or so, or even overnight.

1 0
replied on February 20 Show version history

Hi Robert,

Is there a way to make the server perform this activity manually?  I'm in a situation where it would be great if I could force the server to start purging physical files immediately.

Thanks!

 

Edit: v10.1.1.254

1 0
replied on February 20

You can configure the LFS maintenance window in the registry (this is new to 10.0). Create DWORD registry values named MaintenanceWindowStart and MaintenanceWindowEnd under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Laserfiche\Engine\8.0\Repositories\repositoryname. Set them to 0 and 86400 and restart the LF server service. This tells LFS to make the maintenance window all day, instead of the default of 1am-3am. See this page for more information.

2 0
replied on March 21

Having a look at this thread, I have a few questions:

1) Is there a way to have the MaintenanceWindow run manually without having to manually specify a start and end time (in seconds) in the registry?

2) I'm assuming the MaintenanceWindow task does more than just reclaim disk space.  If I were to run this task manually during the work day, would it be safe to assume it might affect a number of tasks users might be working on?

Thanks for your assistance - I had a workflow run that attempted to copy a single folder numerous times (it consistently timed out and tried to re-run), and the folder that was being copied repeatedly was giant!

Marty Gaffney - Network Technician
Town of Okotoks

0 0
replied on March 21

There is no way to trigger it manually, you would need to update the registry and restart the LF server service to get it to run immediately. It runs at most once every 24 hours while the service is running. The other non-trivial thing it does it purge the recycle bin.

0 0
replied on March 21

So I'd have to specify the start and end times in the registry by specifying the number of seconds after midnight, and then restarting the Server service to get it to start at that specified time (and therefore the modified registry entry)?

Thanks again...

0 0
replied on March 21

Right, set the start and end to 0 & 86400 (see my previous post above), restart LFS, log in to the repository and the cleanup should begin about 1 minute later.

0 0
replied on March 21

Ah - missed the numbers from the previous post.

I'll maybe try setting this to run after the end of day so as to not interfere with any activities during our work day - thanks for your help!

replied on March 21

One more question - how can we tell that it's running?  I'm assuming this isn't a Laserfiche-specific task, but more a sequence of Windows-related tasks that are running to accomplish the reclamation of disk space?

0 0
replied on March 21

There is no outward indication that it is running, your best bet is to just monitor the size of the volume directory.

0 0

Replies

replied on September 12, 2016

Brilliant, is there anyways that I can check that defined timeline? The customer is on 10.1 Update 1 (10.1.1.254)

Also anyways that I can override that time?

0 0
You are not allowed to follow up in this post.

Sign in to reply to this post.